Development of the global online gambling industry

The history of the Internet gaming industry began in the 1990s. It is quite dynamic for such a short period of time. Internet gambling has grown into a multi-billion dollar industry in that time and continues to grow. The development of the business began in '94 when the government of the Caribbean island of Antigua-Barbuda passed a law allowing online casinos to operate in entities registered in an offshore zone.

With the development of the Internet and the advent of new technology, the idea of online gambling was no longer in the air but in practice. New opportunities made it legal to license and operate online casinos in Antigua Barbuda. Among those who saw this as an opportunity to make good profits were two brothers, Andrew and Mark Rivkin, who created Cryptologic. At the same time Microgaming and Starnet Communications were established under the jurisdiction of Antigua.

The development of the industry also led to the formation of Kahnawake, a commission that was created to regulate online casinos and set fairness standards. Microgaming and Cryptologic created the first full-fledged software to support real player account management. In late 1996, Cryptologic released its first software package through its affiliate WagerLogic. By October of that year, InterCasino (one of the very first online casinos) was fully online.

The industry is growing

Thus a multi-million dollar industry was born. Shortly after Cryptologic and InterCasino began generating revenue from online gambling, Boss Media launched its gaming server in Antigua and Barbuda. Starnet System International is simultaneously starting to provide casino operators with licenses with customized software packages. 

In turn, Starnet demands that casinos pay them a portion of their revenue, which the software maker apparently uses to fund its own online gaming business. And to be "first", Microgaming is releasing the first Cashsplash progressive online slot machine.

The next year will see an explosion of Internet casinos, and by the end of 1998, the business will have generated annual revenues of $835 million. American players make up the majority of that revenue, which is beginning to get the attention of U.S. lawmakers. This at a time when Arizona Republican Senator John Kyl is preparing his first of several bills to ban online gambling. The Prohibition Act was intended to make the sale of gaming services and products to American citizens illegal. However, this law fails to pass, and online betting continues to flourish. That same year, both Boss Media and Starnet successfully sell their gaming software licenses to independent online casino operators.

Canada is also beginning to obstruct the industry by conducting police operations at Starnet's offices in Vancouver. Royal Canadian Police believe Starnet's mail server is located in Canada, leading to illegal gambling that is not allowed under Canada's Criminal Code. Starnet was later fined $100,000 for engaging in online gambling.

In the wake of this opposition, Senator Keel is reconsidering the Prohibition Act, which he could not get passed again in the US Congress. Meanwhile, Australia grants Lasseters casino the first and only gambling license. The license was issued by the Northern Territory Government, after which other local authorities in Australia begin to enact their own online gambling legislation as soon as possible. However, by 2000, the Australian federal government passes a law banning any online casinos in Australia. Lasseters remains the only online casino that operates in Australia. Although several proposals have been made to allow sports gambling and horse racing, Australian law has prohibited other online casinos from offering their services to Australian citizens.

There are currently around 700 casinos already online, handling real wagers in multiple currencies. Microgaming, Cryptologic, Playtech and Boss Media have been successful since 2000. Microgaming offers integrity-controlled software that guarantees fair payout percentages, in addition to releasing its second progressive jackpot game, LotsaLoot (an online slot machine) and three other progressive jackpot games: Super Jack Video Poker, Wow Pot and Fruit Fiesta. Cryptologic is listing its stock on the Nasdaq. Four years after its launch, Cryptologic reports that its gambling software was used by approximately 680,000 customers. By 2001, the approximate number of online gamblers is approaching eight million.

Development of online games in other countries

Other countries that are developing the online gambling industry include Argentina, which is licensing its first online casino, as well as the British territories, the Isle of Man and Gibraltar.

Since 2001, the Internet has seen a struggle against gambling through legislation and litigation. The United States is still trying to put an end to online gambling, while the UK is doing its best to make them a legalized and profitable enterprise. Two laws against online gambling are being passed in the United States: one prohibits the organization of online casinos in the United States, and the other prohibits US operators, such as credit card companies, from making payments to online casino accounts. Since 2007, U.S. payment processors have also stopped making payments to online casinos. As a result of the growing online casino lobby, the US Congress has effectively put pressure on US search engines such as Google and Yahoo to ban online casino advertising. One such company, Casino City, filed a lawsuit against the US government, deeming it a violation of the right to free speech. However, after several lawsuits, the suit was dismissed. One positive development regarding online gambling in the United States is the state of Nevada's proposal to allow online casinos to operate within the state, allowing Nevada residents to gamble online. However, lawmakers have been slow to legalize online casinos in the state.

There is less resistance to online gambling in England and steps are being taken to legalize online gambling in the UK. Back in 2001, a law was passed in the British Channel Islands that legalized online gambling for money. Later that year, proposals were made to legalise all forms of online gambling in the UK, believing that this would lead to the creation of the UK Money Gambling Bill, which is a comprehensive bill that would legalise online betting and impose strict standards for the benefit of players.

As far as the future history of online gambling is concerned, it looks fruitful and contributes to more growth and technological advancement. Software companies such as MicroGaming and Cryptologic continue to pave the way for the online gambling industry. More and more online casino software companies are emerging, with billions of dollars in industry turnover.

Развитие мировой индустрии онлайн гемблинга

iGamigTop » Блог » Развитие мировой индустрии онлайн гемблинга

История индустрии интернет-игр началась в 1990-х годах. Она достаточно динамична для такого короткого срока. Интернет-игры за это время превратились в индустрию с многомиллиардными доходами и продолжают расти. Развитие бизнеса началось в 94 году, когда правительство Карибского острова Антигуа-Барбуда приняло закон, разрешающий онлайн-казино работать в организациях, зарегистрированных в оффшорной зоне.

С развитием Интернета и появлением новых технологий идея развития онлайн гемблинга уже не витала в воздухе, а появилась на практике. Новые возможности сделали легальным лицензирование и управление онлайн-казино на Антигуа-Барбуда. Среди тех, кто видел в этом возможность получить хорошую прибыль, были два брата, Эндрю и Марк Ривкин, которые создали Cryptologic. В то же время Microgaming и Starnet Communications были созданы под юрисдикцией Антигуа.

Развитие отрасли также привело к формированию Kahnawake — комиссии, которая была создана для регулирования онлайн-казино и установления стандартов справедливости. Microgaming и Cryptologic создали первое полноценное программное обеспечение для поддержки реального управления счетами игроков. В конце 1996 года Cryptologic выпустила первый программный пакет с помощью своего филиала WagerLogic. К октябрю того же года InterCasino (одно из самых первых онлайн-казино) начало полностью работать в сети.

Индустрия развивается

Так возникла многомиллионная индустрия. Вскоре после того, как Cryptologic и InterCasino начали получать доход от онлайн-гемблинга, Boss Media запустила свой игровой сервер на Антигуа и Барбуде. Starnet System International одновременно начинает предоставлять операторам казино лицензии с настроенными пакетами программного обеспечения. 

В свою очередь, Starnet требует, чтобы казино выплачивали им часть своего дохода, который производитель программного обеспечения, по всей видимости, использует для финансирования своего собственного игрового онлайн-бизнеса. И чтобы быть «первым», Microgaming выпускает первый прогрессивный игровой онлайн автомат Cashsplash.

В следующем году произойдет взрывное развитие интернет-казино, и к концу 1998 года бизнес получит годовой доход в размере 835 миллионов долларов. Американские игроки составляют большую часть этого дохода, что начинает привлекать внимание американских законодателей. Это в то время, когда сенатор-республиканец от Аризоны Джон Кил готовит свой первый из нескольких законопроектов о запрете онлайн-игр. Закон о запретах был призван сделать продажу игровых услуг и товаров американским гражданам незаконной. Однако этот закон не проходит, и ставки онлайн продолжают процветать. В том же году и Boss Media, и Starnet успешно продают свои лицензии на игровое программное обеспечение независимым операторам казино в Интернете.

Канада также начинает препятствовать индустрии, проводя полицейские операции в офисах Starnet в Ванкувере. Королевская полиция считает, что почтовый сервер Starnet находится в Канаде, что приводит к незаконной игре, не разрешенной Уголовным кодексом Канады. Позже Starnet был оштрафован на 100 000 долларов за участие в онлайн-гемблинге.

На волне этой оппозиции сенатор Кил пересматривает Закон о запрете, который он не мог был снова принят в Конгрессе США. Между тем, Австралия предоставляет казино Lasseters первую и единственную лицензию на азартную деятельность. Лицензия была выдана правительством Северной территории, после чего другие местные органы власти в Австралии как можно скорее начинают принимать собственное законодательство об онлайн-гемблинге. Однако к 2000 году федеральное правительство Австралии принимает закон, запрещающий работу любых онлайн-казино в Австралии. Lasseters остается единственным онлайн-казино, которое работает в Австралии. Несмотря на то, что было внесено несколько предложений о разрешении спортивных розыгрышей и скачек, австралийский закон запретил другим онлайн-казино предлагать свои услуги гражданам Австралии.

В настоящее время около 700 казино уже работают в сети, обрабатывая реальные ставки в нескольких валютах. Microgaming, Cryptologic, Playtech и Boss Media успешно развиваются с 2000 года. Microgaming предлагает программы с контролем честности, гарантирующие честные проценты выплат, в дополнение к выпуску своей второй игры с прогрессивным джекпотом, LotsaLoot (онлайн-торговый автомат) и три других игры с прогрессивным джекпотом: Super Jack Video Poker, Wow Pot и Fruit Fiesta. Cryptologic размещает свои акции на Nasdaq. Через четыре года после его запуска Cryptologic сообщает, что его программное обеспечение для азартных игр использовалось примерно у 680 000 клиентов. К 2001 году приблизительное количество онлайн-игроков приближается к восьми миллионам.

Развитие онлайн игр в других странах

К другим странам, которые в развивают индустрию онлайн-гемблинга, относятся Аргентина, которая лицензирует свое первое онлайн-казино, а также британские территории, остров Мэн и Гибралтар.

Начиная с 2001 года, в Интернете была отмечена борьба против азартных игр, проводимая посредством законодательства и судебных разбирательств. Соединенные Штаты все еще пытаются положить конец онлайн-гемблингу, в то время как Великобритания делает все возможное, чтобы сделать их легализованным и прибыльным предприятием. В США принимаются два закона против онлайн-гемблинга: один запрещает организацию онлайн-казино в Соединенных Штатах, а другой запрещает операторам США, таким как компании, выпускающие кредитные карты, производить платежи на счета онлайн-казино. С 2007 года американские платежные системы также перестали производить платежи в интернет-казино. В результате растущего лоббирования интернет-казино Конгресс США эффективно оказал давление на такие поисковые системы США, как Google и Yahoo, с целью запретить рекламу онлайн-казино. Одна из таких компаний, Casino City, подала иск против правительства США, посчитав это нарушением права на свободу слова. Однако после нескольких судебных разбирательств иск был отклонен. Одним из положительных сдвигов в отношении онлайн-гемблинга в США является предложение штата Невада разрешить онлайн-казино работать в пределах штата, что позволяет жителям Невады играть на деньги в Интернете. Однако законодатели не спешат легализовать онлайн-казино в штате.

В Англии меньше сопротивления онлайн-гемблингу, и предпринимаются шаги по легализации онлайн-гемблинга в Великобритании. Еще в 2001 году на Британских Нормандских островах был принят закон, который легализует онлайн-азартные игры за деньги. Позднее в том же году были внесены предложения по легализации всех видов онлайн-гемблинга в Великобритании, полагая, что это приведет к созданию UK Money Gambling Bill, который представляет собой всеобъемлющий счет, который легализует онлайн-ставки и вводит строгие правила стандарты в интересах игроков.

Что касается будущей истории онлайн-гемблинга, то она выглядит плодотворной и способствует большему росту и технологическому прогрессу. Компании-разработчики программного обеспечения, такие как MicroGaming и Cryptologic, продолжают прокладывать путь для индустрии азартных игр в Интернете. Появляется все больше и больше компаний, занимающихся разработкой программного обеспечения для онлайн-казино, с оборотом в миллиарды долларов в отрасли. 

Топ-10 Лучших
Jet Casino
Jet Casino

Вход, регистрация и официальный сайт казино

Play Fortuna
Play Fortuna

Вход, регистрация и официальный сайт казино

Sol Casino
Sol Casino

Вход, регистрация и официальный сайт казино

Casino X
Casino X

Вход, регистрация и официальный сайт казино

Fresh Casino
Fresh Casino

Вход, регистрация и официальный сайт казино

Spin Million
Spin Million

Вход, регистрация и официальный сайт казино

Fatboss
Fatboss

Вход, регистрация и официальный сайт казино

Dozenspins
Dozenspins

Вход, регистрация и официальный сайт казино

Betamo
Betamo

Вход, регистрация и официальный сайт казино

Spinia
Spinia

Вход, регистрация и официальный сайт казино